Friday Recap: Pollard, Fraser, Riddle Top Heat Races


Extreme Northwest heat and abnormally high track temperatures created a unique challenge for this year’s Summer Showdown drivers at Evergreen Speedway. Bubba Pollard was able to capture fast time for the evening followed by Jason Fraser and Owen Riddle in qualifying.

Those drivers led from the pole during three 25-lap heat races to determine the top 24 drivers that transfer to guaranteed starting spots in the 200-lap Summer Showdown main event Saturday night.

California champion Jason Gilbert raced his way into the Summer Showdown during heat one action to transfer to the Summer Showdown main event.

Gilbert used the inside line with three laps to go to pass Dylan Lupton to take the final transfer spot. Lupton will have to race his way in during Saturday’s LCQ race or use a provisional. The heat race was won by Bubba Pollard. Also transferring to the Summer Showdown on Saturday; Mike Longton, Garrett Evans, Blaine Rocha, RJ Johnson in his first Showdown start, and veteran Ron Eaton.

In heat race two Tyler Tanner raced his way into the transfer spot after a lap six or restart. The race was won by Jason Fraser. Also locked into the Summer Showdown main event Montana’s Ryan Wells, local Monroe driver Kelly Mann, Canada’s Shane Harding, Joe Constance, Donnie Wanat, and former Showdown champion Pete Harding.

Missing the transfer spot in heat 2 and having to use the LCQ race or provisional is 2014 Washington State and Evergreen Speedway Champion Mike Holden. Greg Voigt, Naima Lang (who spun during the race,) Tom Berrow, Tyler Baker, Tim McDougald and Jay Johnson who will also have to race their way in or use a provisional.

Owen Riddle won heat 3 followed by Blake Williams of Spokane, Derek Thorn of California, Parker Stephens, Taylor Riddle, John Bender (who raced his way up into position after a lap one, front stretch altercation,) NorCal racer Jeremy Doss and making the final transfer spot was Daniel Moore 2013 Evergreen Speedway Super Late Model Champion.

Moore passed Gary Lewis with three laps to go to secure a spot in the main event.

Going to the LCQ or needing to use Provisionals to race in the Summer Showdown are Gary Lewis, Molly Helmuth, Toby Becker who spun on the frontstretch on lap one, Brandon Scheiber and Shane Sawin.

Friday’s heat races locked in the top 24 starting positions. Positions 25-28 will be the fastest 4 by time who did not qualify through heat races. Those drivers do not have to run the LCQ. Positions 29-32 will be top 4 from Last Chance Qualifier. 33 & 34 Top 2 Evergreen NWAAS drivers not qualified. Position 35 & 36 Provisional from Tri Track, SRL, Pacific Coast, CRA, SSS, RCMS etc. Tie Breaker will go to fastest qualifying time.

Foster Press NASCAR Mini Stock points leader and multi race winner Trenton Moriarity took the lead from Devin Kessler on lap seven to claim the 30-lap main event win. Moriarity also broke the track record.

Moriarity, the defending division champion, collected a $1500 prize. Dale Creager finished second with Scott Burby taking the last spot on the podium.

Roger Drake held off Darrell Lutovsky on a restart with 2-laps to go to take the victory in the 30-lap NASCAR Les Schwab Street Stocks main event.

Lutovsky finished second after setting a new track record and a battle for position with Chad Fitzpatrick. Fitzpatrick dropped to fourth in the final two laps allowing Card Davidson to take third.

The main event for the Summer Showdown is on Saturday. Grandstands open to fans at noon. Pre Race festivities feature a fan fest including live music, vendors, a car show and Seahawkers. Preliminary racing includes the Pro 4 Alliance and the Les Schwab LCQ race that will transfer four remaining drivers into the Summer Showdown.

Seattle Seahawks NFL celebrity Momma Lynch is this year’s Grand Marshal.

Tickets for the event are $30 dollars for general admission. Children ages 6-12 are $15. Fans are encouraged to come early to enjoy all the festivities. For more information log onto